No Certificate Of Return For Okorocha, 42 Others (DETAILS)

Imo State governor, Rochas Okorocha and 42 other ‘winners’ or candidates in the  February 23 National Assembly elections yesterday failed to get their Certificates of Return when the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) officially presented certificates to the winners.
The media reports that out of the 360 lawmakers, 35 could not get their certificates of return which INEC said supplementary elections will be conducted in those constituencies while somewhere as a result of court orders restraining the commission from issuing the certificate.

Others were as a result of declaration made under duress, it was gathered.
Supplementary elections would be conducted in Aba North /Aba South, in Abia State, Mbo / Okobo/ Oron / Udung Uko / Urue in Akwa-Ibom State,  Aguata, Idemili North/ Edemili South all in Anamabra State and Zaki in Bauchi state.
Others also to conduct supplementary elections are: Apa/Agatu and Konshisha/ Vandeikya  in Benue state, Ehime Mbano / Ihite-Uboma/ Obowo and Isiala Mbano / Okigwe / Onuimo in Imo state, Bassa/Dekina in Kogi State, Eti -Osa, Shomolu, Ojo, Ajeromi /Efelodun, Oshodi/ Isolo II  in Lagos State, Ibarapa Central / Ibarapa North in Oyo state, Jos North/ Bassa in Plateau state, Ahoada West, Ogba/ Egbema Adoni, Akuku Toru / ASARI Rotu, Bonny/Degema, Emohua /Ekwerre, Okrika /Ogu Bolo in Rivers state and Bodinga/Denge Shuni/ Tureta in Sokoto State.
Constituencies in which certificate of return was not given as a result of court orders are: Njikoka/ Dunukofia /Anaocha in Anamabra State, Yakurr/ Abi in Cross Rivers State, Akko in Gombe State, Igabi, Lere all in Kaduna State, Kano Municipal in Kano State, Gurara/ Suleja/ Tafa, Kontagora/ Wushishi/ Mariga/ Mashegu, Magama/ Rijau in Niger State.
The certificate of return was not also issued to Oju/Obi federal constituency of Benue state as the declaration was said to have been made under duress which put the total number of those who could not get the certificate of return to 35.
For the 109 Senate seats, a total of nine certificate of return were not issued to those senatorial districts.
A supplementary elections would be conducted in seven senatorial districts which includes: Abia South, Imo North, Kogi East, Ondo South, Plateau South, Rivers East and Rivers West.
Bauchi South Senatorial District certificate was not given as a result of court order while Imo West Senatorial District was not issued as a result of declaration made under duress which summed the total number of senatorial districts a return certificate was not given to nine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *